Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Bantam Red ancona

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Wed Apr 01, 2020 3:10 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Bantam Red ancona
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 11:08 am 
Gallant Game
Gallant Game

Here are a few pictures of my bantam red ancona rooster and hen. I am just getting started in this breed and so far hatched 4 eggs(of course 3 roosters and one pullet). The pullet will be added to the breeders and one roo will be a back up.

I think they are a beautiful looking breed and am very excited to have these. I have had standard sized black anconas for years.

Enjoy the pics.

Post subject: Re: Bantam Red ancona
PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 1:15 pm 
Prime Pekin
Prime Pekin

Great little birds and no doubt good layers . I have seen a few good Reds in bantam around of late . Yours are as good as any I have seen . Keep up the good work with them and not sure if you know reds are only in Australia as I understand . Thank you for posting the photos .
Is the female in the last photo your pullet ? I ask this since I would expect the comb over in an older bird ( as you would know from your large birds )

PostPosted: Tue May 28, 2013 6:22 pm 
Gallant Game
Gallant Game

Hi Martin,

No unfortunately (comb wise) she is the elder hen. The pullet's comb is still too immature to tell yet how it will end up. I agree the elder girl's comb should be over but isn't. The rooster I think is a really good speciman and from a totally different line to the hen, so hopefully breeding will produce hens with the correct comb. Only time will tell.

Thanks for the imput.

Cheers,

PostPosted: Fri May 31, 2013 2:39 pm 
Prime Pekin
Prime Pekin