Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Pure breed or mixed breed flock

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Thu Aug 16, 2018 3:51 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:09 pm 
Hatchling
Hatchling

Hi. Looking for some advice. I am completely new to chooks. We live semi rural and have a 3 year old. We would like chooks as pets, for eggs, to eat the snails and to turn my veggie patches over. Maybe also breeding and eating the boys.

What would you recommend pure breed or mixed breed flock? What breed or breeds?

Thanks

Sent from my SM-G925I using Tapatalk

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2016 3:47 pm 
Junior Champion Bird
Junior Champion Bird

There are benefits to both. It ultimately depends on what you want to do and what you want from your chickens.

A mixed flock will give you variety to look at (there are some beautiful chicken breeds out there), and variety with the eggs that are laid, both in colour and size, shape and regularity. Having a mixed flock can give you a longer layer period, choosing breeds such as Leghorns, any of the other Mediterranean breeds (Minorca, Ancona), etc, they tend to lay more and are broody less. But other dual purpose breeds (Dorking, Australorp, Wyandotte, Marans, Naked Necks, there are a lot) will give you meat birds as well as eggs, and with some breeds, broodies to raise offspring. You also increase your chances of durability with the birds, some are more hardy than others.