Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Light sussex rooster over coronation sussex hen offspring??

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:58 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:34 pm 
Hatchling
Hatchling

Hi, i am new to the chicken breeding world. I just have one question, i have 2 coronation sussex hens and one light sussex hen. I was wondering what colour offspring i would get if i buy a light sussex rooster and put him over the coronation hens? Would it be as simple as 50/50 light and coronation offspring?
Thank you

Attachments:
File comment: My 2 coro sussex :)
20170626_123315.jpg
20170626_123315.jpg [ 2.81 MiB | Viewed 592 times ]

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 2:04 pm 
Old Mother Goose
Old Mother Goose

Hi SamwiseC and welcome to the BYP
The dark on the Light Sussex is dominant over the lavender on the Coronation. So unless the Light Sussex rooster is carrying lavender (heterozygous black/lav) all the next generation birds will be Light (phenotype) but those bred from the Coronation X Light matings will be heterozygous (carrying Lavender black/lav). If you put one of these males over their Coronation mothers (homozygous lav/lav) half of the next generation will be Coronation (homozygous Lav/lav)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 3:33 pm 
Hatchling
Hatchling

Thank you Sue55. That makes sense :). So does that mean if i get a coronation rooster and put him over the light sussex hen will the black in the hen still dominate? Or will that throw a mix of both? Sorry im still trying to understand the dominant gene thing. Im guessing the rooster carries the dominant gene? Again thank you this is greatly appreciated!

PostPosted: Mon Jun 26, 2017 8:26 pm 
Old Mother Goose
Old Mother Goose