Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - family and friends wont eat our chickens

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 5:34 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 1:27 am 
Proud Rooster
Proud Rooster

Hi guys
We keep show poultry but have a nice meat bird cross we do with the large Indians over our sussex. We eat from these guys about twice a week and keep hatching them to turn over to kill and eat.
It seems I cannot serve ANYTHING containing chicken to anyone that knows we do this.

Hubby spent his youth working at the meat works, I am a nurse, between us we have a pretty good idea about getting a bird to the table without poisoning our unwitting "victims" (aka friends and family).

I have shown them footage of the nasty conditions that their preferred supermarket birds are kept under and explained that the bird they will be eating only had one bad day (got to admit, getting your head cut off cannot equate to a "good day"). It is to no avail.

I think I will keep our tasty breeding efforts to ourself from now on, no need to cast pearl before swine.
I consider my family and friends to be intelligent people, I don't understand why they cannot enjoy a meal with us? Anyone else had this sort of problem? . Perhaps the bright fluoro lighting of the supermarket gives a sense of security (totally unwarranted) that I cannot provide with blood splattered clothing they are greeted at the door with should they arrive to early (just joking)

Any thoughts? I feel hurt they will not eat our meat
cheers essie

PostPosted: Wed Feb 27, 2013 6:34 am 
Assist Admin
Assist Admin

Hi Essie
I have the same experience here.
People have said to me 'what do they taste like'

der...chicken... :rofl: