Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Which SLR Camera and Why??

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 9:10 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:17 pm 
Junior Champion Bird
Junior Champion Bird

Hi All,
Im on the hunt for a new SLR digital camera, I'm leaning towards a NIKON D3100 and from what Ive read are great for beginers getting into SLR. I know theres alot of great photographers on BYP and I was hoping you could say what sort of camera you have and how good a picture does it take and how easy is it for a beginer. Thanks in advance
Sally

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 2:53 pm 
Junior Champion Bird
Junior Champion Bird

Hi Oakey

I'm a professional photographer & graphic designer by trade, but i don't like nikon cameras. i do have some friends who are into amateur photography, who use them, but most of my pro friends have CANON cameras, either the 60D or the 7D.

I personally use a 60D for my pro shooting, (i am waiting for them to bring out the next gen before i upgrade again) and i have the 450D as my backup camera (usually with a different range lens)

if you are going to be shooting livestock i'd recommend looking at the fastest lenses you can afford, with IS both vert & horiz. usually you can get a fixed 50mm zoom in about F1.8

most important is buy the brand that suits you, and the best lenses you can afford. you can always upgrade your camera body later as the technology progresses, but a good lens is an investment for life.

Morgs

Barnevelders - Coronation/Light Sussex - Bronze Turkeys - Rhode Island Reds - Plymouth Rocks

PostPosted: Sat Apr 09, 2011 3:00 pm 
Golden Cockatoo
Golden Cockatoo