Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - getting rid of foxes

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Tue Oct 22, 2019 8:24 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: getting rid of foxes
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 8:10 am 
Proud Rooster
Proud Rooster

Hi all, is there any way to get rid of foxes as I don't have a gun and have no dog to deter him. The fox has poached a couple but hasn't for two weeks as I fox proofed everything but he is still hanging around. Any help will be great, thanks.

Post subject: Re: getting rid of foxes
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 8:15 pm 
Dapper Duck
Dapper Duck

Hello Will,

I am not experienced in foxes at all even though I know they are around here. The only other thing to try is possibly a trap. Maybe your local council may be able to help with the hire of one. As to what you do with it when you catch it.............not sure?? I hate the thought of baiting animals (even the ones deemed as pests).

PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2016 9:20 pm 
Golden Robin
Golden Robin

Foxes are a major problem in Australia and there is a fox per square kilometre in all of mainland Australia. Most foxes are fairly young and they have a fairly short life because of road kill, infectious canine diseases such as distemper, parvo etc. Foxes close to major cities such as where you are have a much better time than foxes in rural areas because of the abundance of food they can obtain easily.

Right at the moment there are lots of new foxes that have left the den in the last month or so. These are fairly inexperienced and looking for easy meals such as a chicken dinner. Most wont survive. An older fox is much more cunning having learnt the lessons of survival and they are much harder to control or stop from taking chooks.