Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Ducklings dying

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Thu Jul 24, 2014 4:55 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Ducklings dying
PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 11:29 am 
Hatchling
Hatchling

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I hatched 21 Runner ducklings late last week and have nearly lost the lot through death. I have been breeding ducks for nearly 20 years and have never experienced this problem.

Their incubations was a little doomed from the start, after being in the incubator for approx a week we experienced bad storms and subsequently were 'blacked out' for around 14 hours. They survived this although in the last 5 days before hatching we had temperatures in excess of 35 degrees with high humidity. I had to help a lot of the ducklings out as they weren't hatching properly and I was losing them dead in shell (this should have been a sign).

After they hatched we still had very humid weather for the first 2 days. For the first day they were all fine and all eating and drinking well (we feed them chick crumbles)(they are in a brooder under heat lamps with plenty of area under/away from heat).