Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Ivermectin injectable dosage?

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:49 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Tue Jul 24, 2012 11:53 pm 
Clucky Hen
Clucky Hen

I have spent a lot of time searching for the dosage for the injectable Ivermectin but seem to only be able to find for the drench and the pour on. I thought it was quite reasonably priced with a long shelf life so am hoping I can use it.

I have 10mg/ml Ivermectin antiparasitic injection for Cattle and Pigs and would like to use it on my chickens.

Can I use it in water (my preferred method) and if so how much?

Thankyou in advance Judy

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 8:34 am 
Clucky Hen
Clucky Hen

Hi, I am no expert but i doubt that you would be able to use it in water.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:39 am 
Golden Magpie
Golden Magpie

I dont know the dosage rate either for injectable either sorry. Ring a vet and get them to work it out however they will need to know the average weight of your birds to work it out. Also they need to know that poultry have a higher metabolic rate than mammals and therefore need a higher dose BUT any of the mectins can become toxic at too high a dose.

Mike.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 25, 2012 10:29 am 
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

sbred wrote:
I have spent a lot of time searching for the dosage for the injectable Ivermectin but seem to only be able to find for the drench and the pour on. I thought it was quite reasonably priced with a long shelf life so am hoping I can use it.

I have 10mg/ml Ivermectin antiparasitic injection for Cattle and Pigs and would like to use it on my chickens.

Can I use it in water (my preferred method) and if so how much?

Thankyou in advance Judy