Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Frostbite

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 4:37 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Frostbite
PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:27 am 
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Frostbite?

I have no experience of this, but as we have a few members from colder parts, they can probably relate to the topic.

I'm going to quote Kenny Troiano's comments on the topic and others are welcome to add to it.

Problems Due to Frostbite: Friends of min that live in states where the climate is colder tell me that frostbite is a real problem with their gamefowl, especially during the winter months. The combs and wattles on your un-dubbed stags are a particular problem when it comes to frostbite, which will redden in color and become swollen. If you suspect your fowl has been frostbitten, treat it as you would any case of frostbite, by rubbing he affected parts with cold water. Once they have thawed out the combs and wattles can be extremely painful so treat them gently.

Frostbitten birds may become lethargic and lack energy, and will eventually stop eating. This is another reason why trimming or dubbing may be a good idea. In fact, many people I know who live up north make it a practice of removing the combs and wattles from even the very young of chicks. This way they can avoid this problem during the most crucial time of their development. In areas where it gets extremely cold an insulated brood house or cock house with well=placed electric light bulbs is a good idea. This will help keep your fowl from being uncomfortably cold and becoming highly stressed.

p. 202 The Chronicles of Kenny Troiano

I have also heard that putting vaseline on the combs and wattles can help to prevent frostbite. Never had a need to try it here though.

Feather Clubs Association of Qld