Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Black spots on comb

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Thu Sep 18, 2014 8:35 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Black spots on comb
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:41 pm 
Showy Hen
Showy Hen

Hi, one of my hens has black spots appearing on her comb. Is this Fowl Pox? She is not ill or behaving any differently to normal. At first I thought it may have been the rooster starting to work, but she has a couple of spots on her wattles now too. Do I need to separate her, or is it one of the diseases that the birds will develop natural immunity to? Will she become sicker? Sorry for all the questions, but I'm a newbie. Barbara B

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:14 am 
Champion Bird
Champion Bird

Hi Barbara...I don't think you are dealing with pox here at all...I think you have some sort of vit/mineral deficiency...What do you feed them?
Do you give them any bread/scraps? If so how much?
Please be specific when you tell us what their diet consists of...
Also have you wormed them at all? If so with what product and when?
Please get back to us.
Looloo :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 10:47 am 
Showy Hen
Showy Hen

The birds are about 20 weeks old. I'm feeding Layer Pellets from Barastoc. They are 15% protein and the birds have free access to them. They have access to a grassed yard during the day and they do eat a lot of grass. I give them a lettuce that has gone to seed and a couple of tomotoes each day; and sometimes a leaf or two of silverbeet. They get about a cup of wheat between five birds each evening. Free access to clean water available inside and outside their henhouse. When I look at that list, maybe they need more protein?? I haven't wormed them since we bought them.
Barbara B

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:14 pm 
Champion Bird