Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - RCOM 20 Maintenance

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Tue May 22, 2018 9:43 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: RCOM 20 Maintenance
PostPosted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 2:29 pm 
Proud Rooster
Proud Rooster

Hi All,

As an instrument tech, I might be able to share some things I've noticed with this incubator.

For those that have had a bit of drama with the RCOM 20, there are some maintenance steps you can take between batches that will help it run better.

I should point out that mine is the 08 model, and I haven't seen the older one, or the 3 egg model.

Mine has worked beautifully, but has "kicked up" on me a couple of times, and these steps seemed to fix it.

My personal opinion only.

1. Use demineralised or rainwater. Any water with heaps of calcium etc really starts to leave residues all through the thing. Clean water with about three drops of bleach is best. The low water alarm my take a little time to go away, but it will.

2. Clean the filter, tube and valve between the 2 resovoirs thouroughly. I use a plastic syringe (no needle) and squirt a diluted solution of CLR through the tube, after removing the filter and float valve (carefully) off each end. Fill to about 1cm both resovoirs with the same solution and let it soak awhile. Scrub out with a soft toothbrush, taking care to remove any salt buildup, especially on the 2 stainless "posts" and the float valve on the sponge side. Soak all the little bits as well.

3. Repeat step 2 using a warm bleach solution like domestos. Clean the sqare humidity sponge, and the little round intake filter sponge in this solution.

4. Use a vacuum cleaner to suck out all the vents on the top half of the machine, before wiping it all other with a rag damp from your bleach solution.