Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Duck Eggs Pipped - 4 Days Early and Wrong End?

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 3:21 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 1:07 am 
Day old Chick
Day old Chick

Hi, hopefully I can get some advice. This is my first time hatching duck eggs, these are Muscovy, and I have tried to follow the recomendations I've found or been given.

Up until a week ago 23 of the eggs were developing and then some stopped having obvious veins and I suspect they are dead. In case I am wrong I have left them in the incubator.

I have 11 that still have veins and in two I saw clear movement last night. I opened the incubator tonight to turn them one last time and four are pipped but at the wrong end and one has blood under it. I can't hear any peeping or see movement.

I didn't move any, just gave a quick spray to replace moisture in the air and closed the incubator.

My humidity has been high about 75% even with air con and a fan trying to lower it. The incubator hasn't been hot I got a digital medical themometer to check.

Has being turned to close to hatching confused them? Is that why they are at the wrong end?

Will they hatch anyway? How will they get air?

Anyway just thought I would share my panic around.

PostPosted: Sun Nov 21, 2010 7:58 am 
Site Administrator
Site Administrator

Hi Laura,

It's not unusual for some eggs to stop developing as they approach hatch time. Any weakness or deficiency in the egg, or even fluctuations in incubation conditions can show up then and result in a few losses. If you are sure they aren't right, then remove them. Rotten eggs can blow up and spread bacteria in your incubator. If you're not sure, then smell them individually. You can usually smell a problem through the egg shell.