Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - DIY Automatic Chicken Coop Door

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Fri Aug 01, 2014 4:45 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 106 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:30 pm 
Dapper Duck
Dapper Duck

Hi,

I thought I would share my little Chicken Coop Door project with everybody. I have seen a few variations around but nothing that I really liked. The commercial automatic doors were way too expensive, and I thought it would be fun having a go at making my own.

Firstly, I am by no means an electronics expert, I have a basic understanding, a soldering iron and some determination.

So, what did I want? Well, a door that would open and close when I wanted it to, without any intervention from me.

A guillotine type door is definitely the way to go, as it offers the most simple means of opening and closing.

In this case I used some Perspex I had lying around, so that I didn't block the natural light into the coop, so the door itself can be a little hard to see!

For the side rails, I went to Bunnings, and got some aluminium window weather moulding, which just happened to be perfect for my project.

So, with the slide rails in place and the door made, how was I going to get it to go up and down all by itself?