Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Sexing a silkie

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:42 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Sexing a silkie
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:19 pm 
Dapper Duck
Dapper Duck

Ive bought a partridge silkie from a breeder but the breeder is a newbie herself and is not sure of the sex of her chicks. What are the tell tail signs i should be looking for?
Before i went to buy the chick i did some reading and found this site

http://www.americansilkiebantamclub.org ... s_page.htm

But being a newbie myself i didn't really know what i was looking for and i was second guessing myself. Any help would be great.

Thanks Rik

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:30 pm 
Showy Hen
Showy Hen

how old is the chook? I would assume sexing chicks would be similar to any other breed (I have no idea how to do this... I think it is a fairly tricky business :P )

Older ones you look for big combs on the boys - they get large "brain" looking things that should be fairly obvious once they are nearing maturity...

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:46 pm 
Dapper Duck
Dapper Duck

oh yeah its 4 weeks old

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 9:58 pm 
Golden Swan
Golden Swan

Hi,

I'm no great shakes at sexing, but with most breeds the boys have got bigger, redder combs and little wattles beginning to show by about 4 or 5 weeks, but some still develop later than that. I've never had a silkie but I have heard that it's much harder with them and you have to wait for much longer. How long you may ask? Answer - I don't know! (Sorry)

Maybe a Silkie expert will come along and tell us!

NellyG :)

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:12 pm 
Golden Cockatoo
Golden Cockatoo