Backyard Poultry Forum • View topic - Change in feed and chooks stopped laying!!

Backyard Poultry Forum

Chickens, waterfowl & all poultry - home of exhibition & backyard poultry in Australia & New Zealand
Login with a social network:
It is currently Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:53 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:29 pm 
Hatchling
Hatchling

Hi,

I'm new to this. :lol:

I bought 2 chooks from a battery farm in Nth Queensland a few months back and they looked pretty ordinary and didn't lay for about a month.

Since this time, they have become quite good layers (2 eggs a day).

I was quite pleased with this, although they were always acting as if they were hungry with the high quality mixed mash i was giving them, so i thought i'd try the pellets to make them feel fuller. They still cluck all the time and chase me to get food, but now they have stopped laying. I have pellets avaliable all day.

Do you think the change in feed has caused them to stop laying?

Also one of the chickens never grew her feathers back from where she was plucked at the farm. Will they ever grow back? The other chicken has lovely feathers!! There is no sign of fighting and they have a dry, clean home.

Thanks in advance for your replies!!

:wink: Farlap and chookchook

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 12:06 am 
Golden Swan
Golden Swan

Hi f and c,

I've got 4 ex chook farm girls. Three have grown enough new feathers so that they look like nice chooks, even if they are not fully feathered. The other one, poor little Sophie, looks just as bad as when I got her and she had the least feathers of all of them! I expect if she ever moults then she'll grow them all but no sign of it yet! Still she seems happy and healthy. As far as the egg laying, I don't really know but change is stressful for them and may be it was enough to stop them laying for a while. If it's stress I wouldn't expect it to last long if everything else is stable. But I'm not an expert!